The best of the best – this year’s ASCLA winners, with pictures

The best of the best – this year’s ASCLA winners, with pictures

The Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia, in conjunction with Dematic, LMA, Xtreme Freight and Australian Border Force Program, has announced the winners of the 2017 Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards.

These awards have been held annually for the last 57 years by the Supply Chain and Logistics Association of Australia (SCLAA).  The awards provide an opportunity for people and companies involved in the supply chain industry to celebrate and be recognised for their particular contribution, success and hard work.

A record number of entries were received this year and were of an exceptionally high calibre. Those who attended the ASCL Awards Gala Dinner were from across the Asia Pacific, including New Zealand, Singapore and Vietnam.

2017 ASCL Award Winners

2017 Environmental Excellence Award

The Environmental Excellence Award recognises corporate leadership contributing to the solution of environmental sustainability within our industry through performance and action. The trophy was first awarded in 1966 and is dedicated to Mr Ken Pike.

The winner of the 2017 Environmental Excellence award is Kathmandu.


Kathmandu receiving the award from SCLAA vice president Joshua Holmes (right).

2017 Training, Education & Development Award

Training, education and development remains a vital part of allowing knowledge to be utilised for new ideas and supply chain improvements to be discovered and then implemented. This award is presented to a company that can best demonstrate their commitment/ application and results of providing training, education and development of their people. The trophy was first awarded in 2002 and is dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour.

The winner of the 2017 Training, Education and Development Award is eStore Logistics.

eStore Logistics.

A High Commendation was awarded to Hunter Valley Coal Chain Coordinator (HVCCC).

2017 Information Technology and Management Award

Information remains the most important requirement of any supply chain. Information technology is where the majority of supply chain improvements have been made. Nominees for this award demonstrate where their use of existing or new technology has provided significant improvements to their management of information and/or their supply chain processes. The trophy was first awarded in 1994 and is dedicated to the late Len Smith FAIMM.

The joint winners of the 2017 Information Technology and Management Award are  IFC Global Logistics Pty Ltd and  Northern Co-operative Meat Company Ltd.

Northern Co-operative Meat Company Ltd. (IFC Global staff were unfortunately not present to receive their trophy.)

2017 Industry Excellence Award

Recognises and acknowledges outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual currently engaged across the supply chain industry. Persons nominated for this most prestigious award will be leaders and will have made significant change to the way a supply chain is managed and improved either academically, physically or technologically.

Originally awarded in 1987 and dedicated to Mike Munns, FAIMM, this award remains a cornerstone of SCLAA’s commitment to recognising and promoting the importance of the supply chain industry and its people to continuously improving organisational strength and growth.

The winner of the 2017 Industry Excellence Award is Mark Srzypiec, Miele ANZ.

Mark Srzypiec, Miele ANZ.

2017 International Supply Chain Award

This is a new award and one that recognises supply chains know no boundaries. The ASCL International Supply Chain Award is given to a company, association or an individual that/who may operate internationally and is able demonstrate their capability, commitment and achievements across any spectrum of the sciences, practices, disciplines or efforts to promote and improve the knowledge and acceptance of the importance of the supply chain.

The winner of the 2017 International Supply Chain Award is Saigon Coop and XAct Solutions.


Saigon Coop and XAct Solutions team receiving the winner’s trophy from SCLAA director David Rogers (right).

2017 Supply Chain Management Award

Supply chain management (SCM) is the overview of materials, information, and finances as they move in a process from supplier to manufacturer to wholesaler to retailer to consumer. This award recognises an organisation that can demonstrate significant achievement within a section or across their entire supply chain. Nominees should be able to clearly state the design and achieved results of the project or process that was envisaged and then implemented.

The trophy was first awarded in 1984 and is dedicated to Doug Beattie.

The Winner of the 2017 Supply Chain Management Award is National Mailing & Marketing.

National Mailing & Marketing Pty Limited receiving the winner’s trophy from Glen Borg, Dematic (ASCL Awards Gold Sponsor).

2017 Logistics Management Award

This is a new award and is awarded for one of the oldest disciplines of any supply chain and replaces the storage and materials handling award. Recipients may stem from nominees for any of the other SCLAA awards at the judges’ discretion, or from a direct application, where the demonstrated achievement, improvement or results have required a logistical approach to improvement or major change to their logistics management.

The winner of the 2017 Logistics Management Award is Dematic.

Glen Borg of Dematic with SCLAA director Gary Pearce (left).

2017 Future Leaders Award

The purpose of this award is to provide incentive and recognition to young supply chain professionals who are both currently working in and wish to continue their career path. Nominees for this award should be able to demonstrate their passion and commitment to taking the supply chain toward tomorrow. The SCLAA wishes to showcase finalists and provide impetus to continue to attract the brightest to the industry.

First awarded in 2009 and dedicated to Vince Aisthorpe.

The winner of the 2016 Future Leaders Award is Primo Danieletto.


Future Leaders Award winner Primo Danieletto.

Be there next year

Don’t miss your opportunity in 2018 to nominate an individual or company for these awards recognised industry-wide.

To join this national association please contact the SCLAA national secretariat on 1300 364 160 or email



You may also like to read:

, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.


Sign up with your business email address to keep up with the latest industry news from T&L. Newsletter sent every week.

Most Read

Recycled plastic railway sleepers laid in Victoria
Trains travelling through Richmond in Victoria will now be r...
Caught in the middle: shippers, truckers suffer wharf strikes
Shipping lines are being urged to provide detention relief a...
Spotlight on Promat 2019 – from MHD magazine
Mal Walker In early April I had the opportunity to visit Pr...
Logistics hotspots of skills in demand
The second of Hays’ bi-annual Logistics Job Reports for th...
Join the Network – from MHD magazine
As commerce, in general, has become more competitive and adv...
384kg of cocaine found in excavator worth $144m
The largest ever drug interception operation coordinated by ...

Supported By